Jade Cavalcante

Re:ACTIVATE Aspiring Artists

Bring your artistic vision to life!

In Re:ACTIVATE Aspiring Artists, Ōtautahi’s young people have the chance to turn their dreams of public art into a reality. Each year, SCAPE Public Art transforms submitted designs from primary and high school students into real-life pieces of large-scale public art.

Are you our next aspiring artist?

Creating art is a powerful way for students to process their feelings and experiences, reconnecting to each other and their city during these changing times.

Submissions will open soon for Re:ACTIVATE Aspiring Artists 2022. Up to two designs in each category will be created and exhibited in Hagley Park during our Public Art Season 2022, with shortlisted design proposals also exhibited at Tūranga and on our website.


Re:ACTIVATE Aspiring Artists 2021 Winners

Re:ACTIVATE 2021 winners from left: Agatha Weston, aged 16, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, Te Ao Rangimarie Davis, aged 8, Te Pā o Rākaihautū School and Sienna Oshannessey, aged 16 from Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, pictured with Anna Galloway, Councillor for Halswell Ward.

Our 2020 Re:ACTIVATE Aspiring Artists

Re:ACTIVATE 2020 winners from left: Yzza Batac, aged 11, Merrin School, Annabelle Britt, aged 11, Selwyn House School and Mollie Shaw, aged 18, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, pictured with Lewis Bradford Consulting Engineers Director, Helen Trappitt.

Check out all the entries for Re:ACTIVATE 2020 here!

Our 2019 Re:ACTIVATE Aspiring Artists

We heard from a record number of aspiring artists during Re:ACTIVATE 2019!

The winning five entries were exhibited in central Christchurch at Hack Circle, on the corner of Cashel and High streets, as part of SCAPE Public Art’s annual Season 2019, thanks to the support of Lewis Bradford Consulting Engineers, Christchurch City Council and Christchurch City Libraries.

Re:ACTIVATE 2019 winners, supporters and organisers, from left: Rosetta Brown, Hazel White, Emily Higham, Helena McCondach, Cr Anne Galloway, Tessa Marshall, Alex Sands, Helen Trappitt and Josie Whelan. (Absent: Georgina Jolly).

Re:ACTIVATE 2019 winners

Re:Activate 2019 winners
Left to right: Junior category (Years 1 to 8) Alex Sands, of Little River School, We Are One!; Tessa Marshall, of Ao Tawhiti Unlimited Discovery School, Sticks of Rock. Senior category (Years 9 to 13) Emily Higham, of Lincoln High School, Physiological Manipulation of Space; Helena McCondach, Lincoln High School, Negotiation; Rosetta Brown, left, and Hazel White (absent: Georgina Jolly), Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, Strength in Sisterhood.